July 12-14, 2017, University of Vienna, Austria
The International Conference on Serviceology is an annual academic event initiated by the Society of Serviceology (www.serviceology. org) in Japan aiming to bring together researchers, academics and industry leaders, active and interested in the latest technologies, methodologies, and case studies addressing (co)-creation of services in a sustainable society.
ICServ2017, to be held in Vienna, is the fifth event in this series, following three successful events in Japan (2013, 2014, 2016) and one in the USA (2015). As its predecessors ICServ2017 aims to be an interdisciplinary forum for people to share their views, to exchange ideas, to develop new insights and to report state of the art research results.
We invite researchers from all over the world to submit original, unpublished contributions reporting substantive new work in the fields of service science, management, engineering and technology. All topics relevant to serviceology are of interest, but the conference particularly encourages submissions addressing:
  • Service Innovation
  • Service Design
  • Service Marketing
  • Service Management and Operations
  • Service Capability
  • Theoretical Perspectives on Service
  • Value Co-Creation & Context
  • Service Eco-System
  • Human-Centered Service System
  • Service Engineering & Technologies
  • Servitization and Product-Service-Systems
  • IoT-based Services
  • Services in Industry 4.0
  • Service Economics & Policy
  • Service Practices (healthcare, tourism, hospitality, education, communication, retail, food service, contents service, gaming, etc.)
In addition to the regular conference program, we are happy to announce three Special Sessions:
Session 1: Meaningful technology for seniors
Session 2: A holistic approach for service modelling: service ecosystems
Session 3: Services and Green Economy
More information about the special sessions is available at:

Paper submission deadline - Full papers: January 31, 2017
Paper submission deadline - Short papers: February 28, 2017
Paper notification to authors: April 3, 2017
Camera-ready paper: April 21, 2017
Poster submission: May 1, 2017
Poster notification to authors: May 15, 2017
Conference: July 12-14, 2017
For the conference we solicit high quality contributions in the form of papers according to the Springer LNAI/LNCS format with a length of 6-12 pages.  All papers must be submitted electronically (in PDF) via the submission website ( All submissions need to be anonymized for peer-review. For each submission at least three peer reviews will be collected from members of the PC. Detailed formatting instructions for authors are available on the Springer website:

Shoji Yamamoto, Kwansei University, Kobe, Japan (Honorary General Conference Chair)
Tamio Arai, Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan (Steering Committee Chair)
Dimitris Karagiannis, University of Vienna, Austria (Program Chair)
Jürgen Anke, Hochschule für Telekommunikation Leipzig, Germany
Daniel Beverungen, Paderborn University, Germany
Xavier Boucher, Ecole des Mines de Saint Etienne, France
Christoph Breibdach, The University of Melbourne, Australia
Robert Buchmann, Babes-Bolyai University Cluj, Romania
Sergio Cavalieri, University of Bergamo, Italy
Houn-Gee Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Ja-Shen Chen, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan
Eng K. Chew, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Valentin Cristea, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Edward Crowley, Photizo Group and Manchester University, UK
Monica Dragoicea, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Eman El-Sheikh, University of West Florida, USA
Xiucheng Fan, Fudan University, China
Louis Freund, San Jose State University, USA
Nobutada Fujii, Kobe University, Japan
Yoshinori Fujikawa, Hitotsubashi University, Japan
Ken Fukuda, AIST, Japan
Walter Ganz, Fraunhofer IAO, Germany
Aditya Ghose, University of Wollogong, Australia
Tatsunori Hara, University of Tokyo, Japan
Yoshinori Hara, Kyoto University, Japan
Kazuyoshi Hidaka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
San-Yih Hwang, National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan
Lakhmi C. Jain, University of Canberra, Australia
Julia M. Jonas, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
Koji Kimita, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Axel Korthaus, Victoria University, Australia
Michitaka Kosaka, JAIST, Japan
Natalia Kryvinska, University of Vienna, Austria
Stephen Kwan, San Jose State University, USA
Moon Kun Lee, Chonbuk National University, Korea
Jan Marco Leimeister, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
Mattias Lindahl, Linkoeping University, Sweden
Ruqian Lu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Leszek A. Maciaszek, Wroclaw University of Economics, Poland
Birgit Mager, Köln International School of Design, Germany
Hisashi Masuda, JAIST, Japan
Heinrich C. Mayr, Alpen-Adria University, Austria
Kyrill Meyer, University Leipzig, Germany
Chieko Minami, Kobe University, Japan
Lasse Mitronen, Aalto University, Finland
Hiroyasu Miwa, AIST, Japan
Masaaki Mochimaru, AIST, Japan
Yoichi Motomura, AIST, Japan
Hideyuki Nakashima, University of Tokyo, Japan
Andy Neely, University of Cambridge, UK
Satoshi Nishimura, AIST, Japan
Nariaki Nishino, University of Tokyo, Japan
Taiki Ogata, University of Tokyo, Japan
Takashi Okuma, AIST, Japan
Lia Patricio, University of Porto, Portugal
Christoph Peters, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
Manuele Kirsch Pinheiro, Universite Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, France
Jens Poeppelbuss, University of Bremen, Germany
Dimitris Plexousakis, University of Crete, Greece
Anca Purcarea, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Jolita Ralyte, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Shai Rozenes, Afeka Tel Aviv Academic College of Engineering, Israel
Yuriko Sawatani, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan
Satoshi Shimada, Kyoto University, Japan
Yoshiki Shimomura, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Jim Spohrer, USA, IBM
Rudi Studer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Satoko Suzuki, Kyoto University, Japan
Takeshi Takenaka, AIST, Japan
Takashi Tanizaki, Kindai University, Japan
Marja Toivonen, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland
Keiko Toya, Graduate School of Global Business Meiji Univserity, Japan
Vivek K. Velamuri, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management, Germany
Kentaro Watanabe, AIST, Japan
Yukata Yamauchi, Kyoto University, Japan
Alfred Zimmermann, Reutlingen University, Germany